‘I am transgender, and I want my voice to be heard’- CNN iReport

Published June 6, 2010 by sistersinsolidarity

CNN iReport: “I am transgender, and I want my voice to be heard.”

Avery was one of several people who participated in an iReport assignment that asked transgender, transsexual and questioning people to create a message they wanted others to know.

The task was simple: Make a sign with your message, and take a photo of yourself holding it. The responses were powerful and surprisingly candid.

Avery’s message simply said, “I am talented, creative, and beautiful, and I refuse to be tyrannized by a letter.”

She was referring to the letters “M” and “F” commonly used on forms to denote gender. Avery says that a choice like “male” or “female” that usually seems like a no-brainer is fraught with consequences for transgender people.

“That M or F on a document” too often is used to discriminate against us.

Legally, because Avery has not had gender reassignment surgery, she is still referenced as male on some documents and female on others.

Read full CNN iReport here

人妖 也是人. - Photo taken by Charles Lim

Marla Bendini, 24, "人妖" 也是人. Transsexuals are human too. - Photo taken by Charles Lim

2 comments on “‘I am transgender, and I want my voice to be heard’- CNN iReport

  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

